Similarities

20140803_164128

20140809_182938

20140812_154819

20140730_160548

A typical human of New York is always running in a hurry,  like being late. Also,  they are always in a line, waiting for the subway or waiting to be served at a restaurant,  for example.

Some going to work, other strolling with their families.  Even the New Yorkers seems to like turistic places.  The most interesting in my opinion is that,  a typical New Yorker has a musical soul, are passionate about art and culture, respect the visitors and are solicitous.

They do not mind helping foreigns indicating places that only they know, and believe me,  it is always an amazing experience.

There are always a lot of them in cafes and bakeries. They like enjoying good food reading a book, the newspaper or just chating with friends.

In fact, a typical human of New York is similar to a typical human of São Paulo, Brazil, for this reason I chose spend my vacation here.

4 thoughts on “Similarities

  1. tinyxskull

    Before I came to New York, I’d thought people in America don’t like being in lines. However, I found it’s just my image for them. So, I was surprised at the scene people standing in lines for a long time. Through staying here, I feel they are curious for everything, for example, food, art, movie, and so on.
    When I’m at a loss, or I ask someone about a direction, nobody tells me how to go somewhere politely in my case. So I regarded New Yorkers as impolite people, but I knew not everyone is like that after I read your opinion about New Yorkers!

    Like

    Reply
  2. feinstein22

    For me, as a Swiss, it is quite interesting to read, that people in other cities are similar to the New Yorkers. On New York’s area (1.214,4 km²) live more than eight million people. In Switzerland live more than eight million people too, but they are distributed on an area of 41’285 km²… What a huge difference! Almost eleven thousand people live on one km² in New York. It is outstanding, that NY manages to provide the resources for the countless people.
    I agree with you, that typical New Yorkers respect visitors. But anyway they don’t have a choice: To no other city travel as much visitors as to New York…

    Like

    Reply
    1. aikitristan

      What a reasonable and pragmatic way of putting New York into perspective! So then, it’s not that we necessarily WANT to get along, but we HAVE to get along. A bit pessimistic, maybe, but I tend to agree with you!

      Like

      Reply
  3. pan21

    I agree with you that New York life stlye is about music, art, architecture. And i think it could have something else, for example, they love “green” in some ways. You could see lot of people spend their leisure time in a park, even a small or huge one like Central Park. People are sitting, enjoy the greenery. Some people are cycling. A lot are reading or sunbahting when the weather is nice.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment