What is the common denominator?

What is a typical human of New York City – that’s a very good and at the same time difficult question. 8,2 millions of people live in here – and these people are logically as different as sweet and sour are.

Also if the people of NYC absolutely don’t have altogether the same origin and culture: They have indeed little similarities. For example being almost always stressed, upsetting when the subway is delayed or crossing against the red light. To complete the list of similarities comes another point: All people of NYC loves their city very much – they are the lucky ones, who can live the “living-in-the-big-apple-dream” of thousands of people.

NY-people

Now I switch to the varieties of the population. Some are extremely rich, others are desperately poor. There are a lot of stunning fat people, some outstanding skinny ones, some very famous people and there are unemployed people. They have different religions, different skin colors and different cultures. This list is by no means complete. But it shows the most important differences.

After my analysis I have to say, that there’s no common denominator. In my opinion the typical human of New York doesn’t exist. The only thing, which I can subscribe, is, that the people of NYC are stressed, but adore their city all the time…

5 thoughts on “What is the common denominator?

  1. tinyxskull

    I agree with your opinion about typical human of New York. Here, people have many different things and nobody are the same (It’s be able to say for all countries though.) We can see this character especially here. I sometimes try to guess whether the person live here or he’s a tourist. However, it’s difficult to find because New Yorkers don’t have specific character. It means if we live here, we can say we’re New Yorkers! We can become familiar with her easily.
    In my country, New York has a good stereotype, so I can understand New Yorkers are confident of their city.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Khristina

    That’s an interesting point of view! However, I’d like to highlight a really serious problem. Though, I’m not sure whether it’s a problem of New York or America in the whole.
    I’ve never seen in my life so many fat children. They are not just a little bit plump and cute, but stout and intimidating. Now I understand why this issue is so often discussed in Mass Media.
    At the same moment a lot if people in NY are skinny, so neat and trim. And they all are different. I love this mix of nationalities.

    Like

    Reply
  3. luisaocampoc

    That’s my feeling exactly. New York is a cosmopolitan city, every day is arriving to this city a lot of people for visiting or for living here. For that situation, there isn’t a common denominator cultural in this magical place.

    However, the most curious thing in New York is that despite of the mix of different cultures, every body has the same routine; wake early, buy their breakfast in whatever fast store even in drug store and have lunch in fast auto-service store and finally to try to put up the rush time on subway.

    Finally, I think that the same denominator in this city, it’s the routine life and how the New Yorkers love it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment